The Reasons Why I Want To Leave My Christmas Tree Up All Year

You should too

George “Ace” Acevedo
3 min readJul 31, 2019
Photo by Rodolfo Marques on Unsplash

I really love Christmas.

Everyone who knows me knows that I love Christmas. I love the decorations, the lights, the music, the whole package, and for some reason I never tire of any of it. It makes sense that I would want to extend that love for as long as I can.

Because I can.

I have a really, really good fake tree (it cost me $600), and so I don’t have to worry about leaving a dry fire hazard in my living room just because I want to take a trip for a couple of days. And it looks great anywhere I put it. I also put a lot of lights on it (About 1500), so you can actually read off of it from the couch, so just think of it as a really cool lamp.

Because I need a place to put the presents I bought all year.

Yes, I’m one of those people who buys gifts all year, whenever I find a deal or something special that my loved ones will fall at my feet to receive. Often I won’t be able to go back and get the gift later, either because the sale won’t happen again or it’s a special piece at a festival where I will never see the artist again. The problem is that when the holidays come around I often forget where I hid the gifts, because I…

--

--

George “Ace” Acevedo

Writer. Noisemaker. Visual Artist. Former radio guy who knows a little about a lot.