George “Ace” Acevedo
1 min readAug 8, 2023

--

I do agree there is no one size fits all solution, but yes, you are missing something. I find a majority of people who have been in long-term marriages need space on occasion. You CAN spend too much time together, and that is what this is about. Being 'kicked out of the house' is a metaphor for this.

You sound like a couple who doesn't have this issue, and there is nothing wrong with that.

I used my situation in the article as an example, but there is no reason a woman can't spend time outside the home. My wife goes out more than I do.

I also know I have less of a problem being with her a lot than she does with me. It's just how we're wired.

I recently built a small workshop in the garage, and I love to spend time there. She has found this a helpful solution.

--

--

George “Ace” Acevedo

Writer. Noisemaker. Visual Artist. Former radio guy who knows a little about a lot.