An Open Letter to My Followers

I’m trying an experiment with new accounts

George “Ace” Acevedo
4 min readSep 4, 2023
Photo by Author

I know there’s a bit of controversy over what I’ve decided to do next, but I feel my options are few.

To start, here’s what I’m faced with.

Numerous writing gurus on Medium say it’s best for a writer to stick with a single niche.

Doing this is supposed to help people who follow you feel comfortable that you will consistently deliver the type of content they choose to follow you for. If they enjoy one article, they will likely enjoy the next one.

But what if they like one article, and then the next two are about entirely different things? Will they unfollow?

The answer, as I’ve learned, is often yes.

If you see your follower numbers yo-yo, this is typically an indication that you are confusing people.

My biggest issue with one niche has been burnout. I tried writing about one subject for almost a year: podcasting. I thought I had a lot to say on the subject, and I did, which led to dozens of articles about creating them, performing in them, etc. However, I eventually started struggling to find new ideas.

On top of that, I learned those passionate about podcasting want to listen to podcasts, not…

--

--

George “Ace” Acevedo

Writer. Noisemaker. Visual Artist. Former radio guy who knows a little about a lot.